16 \ Sucked Out.

January 2014
I met 16 on a blustery weekday afternoon for lunch. We met via OKCupid, and we had a good bit in common to talk about around musical tastes. She was newish to Austin, and appeared to be finding her feet.

We chatted for a bit, but not for long. I made her laugh, and wished I’d hadn’t. She had a raspy cackle that was like nails on a chalkboard. It was so bad I had to hear it twice to make certain. I tried to play it straight from then on out, and soon excused myself to get back to work.

Leave a Reply

